Crystalline (2017)

Olga Shupyatskaya and Futaba Niekawa, pianos
Matt Witten and Chris Jones, percussion

Crystalline (2017) for two pianos and percussion was premiered Sunday, July 2nd in Kilbourn Hall, Eastman School of Music on the program “Sonic Clusters II” produced by pianists Olga Shupyatskaya and Futaba Niekawa:


“From My Doleful Prison” (2017)

for soprano, piano and optional electronics/projected imagery

From My Doleful Prison” was commissioned by Emily Woodruff and premiered at the Composers Now Festival February 17, 2017, followed by a second performance at the UNLV Nextet Concert March 15th with faculty pianist Timothy Hoft.


Songs in the Dark (2016)

for voice and piano

Jennifer Bellor, composer and vocalist
Christina Wright-Ivanova, piano
Video from the premiere at the UNLV Nextet Concert on November 2, 2016.


Chamber Jazz version for voice, jazz soprano sax, piano, synth, electric bass, and drums

Live recording at the Bop shop August 21, 2016 featuring:

Jennifer Bellor, vocals
Colin Gordon, soprano saxophone
Julian Garvue, piano
Andrew Links, keyboard
Tyrone Allen, electric bass
Aaron Staebell drums


for voice, string quartet, vibraphone, electric bass

featuring Jennifer Bellor, vocalist; Mivos Quartet; Tim Jones, vibraphone; Summer Kodama, electric bass

This version of Songs in the Dark was written for the Mivos Quartet at the UNLV N.E.O.N. Festival for the concert on September 17, 2017.


Familiar Stranger remix (2015)

voice, soprano sax/clarinet, piano, electric bass, and drums

Video from Bop Shop Show August 21, 2016 featuring Jennifer Bellor, Colin Gordon (soprano sax), Julian Garvue (piano), Andrew Links (keyboard), Tyrone Allen (electric bass), and Aaron Staebell (drums):
Video recording by Dan Woodruff


Afterglow (2016)

for solo marimba

Afterglow (2016) for solo marimba was commissioned by Mark Boseman for his book titled Mallets & Music: A Guide to Four Mallet Marimba. It was designed to focus on one-handed rolls.


Noir (2014)

The version of Noir featuring alto sax was the winner of the 2014 Seattle Women’s Jazz Orchestra composition contest, and premiered in November 2014 at the Earshot Jazz Festival, featuring Grace Kelly on alto saxophone.


After Hours (2014)

for solo drum set

Aaron Staebell, drums

AfterHours (2014) was commissioned by drummer Aaron Staebell for his showcase SoloDrumSolo at the 2014 Rochester Fringe Festival. When Aaron approached me about writing a drumset solo for him to perform at the Fringe Festival, he told me his goal was to collect a number of pieces for solo drumset that are NOT stylized in a jazz, rock or latin context, learn them, perform them, submit them to workshops/conferences and maybe eventually publish a collection of these works.


A Whole New World

jazz arrangement

Colin Gordon, soprano sax
Julian Garvue, piano
Andrew Links, synth
Tyrone Allen, electric bass
Aaron Staebell, drums


Pure Imagination

jazz arrangement

Jennifer Bellor, vocals
Colin Gordon, soprano sax
Julian Garvue, piano
Andrew Links, synth
Tyrone Allen, electric bass
Aaron Staebell, drums


Burning Light (2015)

This is the video from the premiere of Burning Light on the UNLV Nextet Concert November 30, 2015 featuring Jennifer Bellor.


Nightingale (2011)

Jennifer Bellor, soprano
Christina Wright-Ivanova, piano
UNLV Nextet Concert October 2015


Christabel (2013)

A Chamber Opera/Scenic Cantata in 2 Acts

Adaptation of Samuel Taylor Coleridge’s poem “Christabel”
Duration: 45 minutes
This is a video of the premiere April 28, 2013 at the Eastman School of Music.


Noir (2013)

Video from the premiere at the 2013 Rochester Fringe Festival showcase Bending and Breaking: A Collaboration of composers, musicians, and dancers:
Chris Collins and Elisabeth Martin, dancers

Colin Gordon, soprano sax
Wendy Eisenberg, electric guitar
Matt Krol, electric bass
Aaron Staebell, drums


Late, By Myself (2010)

for soprano, vibraphone, piano, bass and drums

Late, By Myself (2011) for soprano, vibraphone, piano, bass, and drums was written for Emily Mills Woodruff, and premiered at the Eastman School of Music, featuring Emily Mills Woodruff, soprano; Tomasz Arnold, vibraphone; Jennifer Bellor, piano; Ben Thomas, bass; and Aaron Staebell, drums. Video recording of a performance at the Eastman Women in Music Festival, featuring dancers Miss Pfohl Smith and Alaina Olivieri.


Dissolve, Compose: Release (2011)

Music with Hot Glass Creation at the Rochester Institute of Technology

I had the opportunity to work with Amphion Percussion and hot glass makers from Rochester Institute of Technology. Sean Connors, marimba, was improvising off of my composition “Heat” while working with his duo partner to create an atmosphere to accompany the various stages of hot glass creation.