LA-TI-DA (2011)

for sinfonietta featuring coloratura soprano and tap dancer

Flute, Oboe, clarinet in Bb, bassoon, horn in F, trumpet in Bb, trombone, tuba, 2 percussion (marimba, vibraphone, glockenspiel, bongos, gongs, tam-tam, snare drum, hi-hat, suspended cymbal, triangle, woodblock), coloratura soprano, tap dancer or drum set, harp, piano, full strings

Duration: 14′

Click HERE to view a PDF of the score.

Excerpt from La-Ti-Da, mov. 1

Excerpt from La-Ti-Da, mov. 2, “Splash”

LA-TI-DA (2011) was premiered under the direction of conductor Geoffrey Pope at the Eastman Composers’ Sinfonietta concert, featuring tap dancer Alex Dugdale and Jennifer Bellor as the soprano soloist. There are two movements, and the second movement is titled “Splash,” and exists as a piece on its own. The vocal part is to be performed as a vocalise, but another instrument may perform the part.
Duration: 12 minutes